Introductory Note

In this section, the Constitutional Court of Colombia offers an overview of its role and composition, Justices, main decisions, and relevant documents.

About the Court

The Constitutional Court of Colombia is the highest tribunal in the Colombian judiciary in matters of Constitutionality. According to the Constitution, it is entrusted to the Court: “The safeguarding of the integrity and supremacy of the Constitution”. In such a capacity, it has a range of functions such as, to determine the constitutionality not only of laws, acts, statutes, and presidential directives (decrees), but also amendments of the Constitution itself, and the International Treaties and their Congress approval. It is also the avant-garde guardian of the fundamental rights of the people, employing the optional review of judicial decisions concerning the protection of their constitutional rights petitioned, throughout the country, through guardianship action, also called the Amparo or Tutela action. As the final constitutional arbiter, the Court is charged with ensuring the Colombian people the promises and rights established upon on the Political Constitution of the Republic. The Court consists of an uneven number of Justices as determined by law. Currently, the number of Justices is fixed at nine, including the President of the Court. Power to nominate the Justices is split among the Supreme Court of Justice, the Council of State, and the President of the Republic. Each one shall nominate three candidates by proposing three shortlists to the Senate. The election is then made by the latter. Justices serve for a term of eight years.


José Fernando Reyes Cuartas
Jorge Enrique Ibañez Najar
Natalia Ángel Cabo
Juan Carlos Cortés González
Diana Fajardo Rivera
Vladimir Fernández Andrade
Antonio José Lizarazo Ocampo
Paola Andrea Meneses Mosquera
Cristina Pardo Schlesinger


Main Decisions

Following you can search for main decision’s abstracts.

Search tips (Search engine under optimization work)

You can look for a single keyword or phrase related to the topic of the decision, Judge-Rapporteur, case number, date, and challenged laws or other provisions. Please note that searches are case insensitive. So searching for “Constitutional Court” is the same as “CONSTITUTIONAL COURT”

    Single keyword. Look for a single word or phrase related to the topic.

    Judge-Rapporteur. To look for the Judge-Rapporteur you can type all or some of his/her given and surnames. Example: John Smith, or John, or Smith.

    Case number. To look for the case number you must use this format: "X-###/YY", where:"X" or "XX" as appropriate, is the type of decision: Either "C" (Constitutionality), "T" (Tutela - Amparo action), "SU" (Sentencia de Unificación - merging Tutela decisions), or A" (Auto - Non-on-substance decisions); "###" or "####", as appropriate, is the assigned consecutive number of the case; and "YY" are the last two digits of the year. Examples: C-036/18, T-115/20, SU-270/93, A-031/97.

    Date. To look for the date you must use this format: "MM/DD/CCYY". "MM" for month, "DD" for day, "CC" for the century, and "YY" for year. Example: 01/30/2019

    Challenged provisions. To look for the questioned provisions you can type any provision´s title information. Examples: Act 630 of 2001, Decree 900 of 1997."